6 emerging women Authors Get $30,000 Rona Jaffe Awards

NEW YORK — Fiction writers Mari Christmas and Yalitza Ferreras and Celebrities Elisa Gonzalez and Charleen McClure are One of six winners of the Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards, $30,000 prizes for Appearing Women Writers.

Other winners announced Tuesday were nonfiction author Hannah Bae and fiction author Tamim Fruchter.

All six will be featured Thursday in a digital reading hosted by New York University.

The awards are named for the late novelist Rona Jaffe, who began the program from 1995.

This story was adjusted to reveal Temim Fruchter is a fiction author, not a poet.